Time to catch up a little…

Ok, it’s been a little while since I last posted.  Well, maybe more than a little while…  As you all know very well, the older you get, the faster time flies.  Add in the already fast paced life of Chicago, and you’ve got yourself a vortex!

 

Work has been good.  I just started working the 3rd shift overnights.  This will certainly take some adjusting, as on my first week I have found myself doing 28 hour stints so I can try to keep somewhat normal hours.  Hardly normal though…

 

In addition to the daily job, I’ve partnered with a childhood friend in an eBay venture.  Digital camera anyone?

 

IMG_3842 IMG_3843

 

For years I’ve been spending spare time between work and corkscrewing trying to find a niche on eBay.  Sourcing a product that is in demand, easy to ship, good margins, minimal storage, low risk, etc…  Not exactly easy, but I’m working on it. These cameras are not exactly the ultimate answer, but landing a wholesale connection that always has fresh inventory to pick from is exciting!  Fingers crossed that we can turn this into a full time gig!

 

The above has really taken a toll on my corkscrewing.  The current watch list is at like 10 items and I’ve resorted to searching by “Ending Soonest”.  Ugh!  But certainly a good thing for you all!  Hope you’re snapping up some good deals while you can!

 

Even though I’m up to my ears in digital cameras, working at all hours of the night, and keeping the Monster Energy drink company in the black I have made a few corkscrew deals in recent months.  Check it out!

 

Thomason Fruit & Vines x 2

IMG_0370 Screen Shot 2013-03-01 at 9.55.33 AM

This little baby was picked up via email.  The guy must have been digging deep into the Google archives to stumble upon my website!  I think my site rating is in the 7 digit range now…  Ugh!  Anyways, I’ve never owned one of these, so I was super excited to get it.  Then a few weeks later I got a BIN for a fine modern reproduction piece.  It’s not that crappy L’Spirit repro piece, but a very finely machined vintage piece.  Definite possibility that it could be related to the famous Vulcan Thomason reproduction piece of the 1970’s.

 

150+ & MORE!

 

I actually got a weekend off and decided to take a road trip down south to do some corkscrew hunting on my own.  Although I always have wishes to come across a $5.00 Syroco Golden Knight, I usually find myself ecstatic when I find a Haff Patent for under $10.  Sad huh?  Well with no luck in the local antique shops, I came to the realization that I was near a Bottle Collector friend.  I decided to drop him a line and hopefully meet for lunch with hopes to view his collection.  Little did I know….

 

Me and the old chap made arrangements to have lunch the following day where he proceeded to take me around his local stomping grounds.  It was a nice afternoon that ended up in his home admiring a 40+ year collection of openers and corkscrews.  Lucky for me, he’s more of a beer guy than wine guy.  J

 

Now he’s never really sold anything.  A few miscellaneous doubles here and there, so I knew I probably wasn’t exactly going to max out my PayPal limits.  As I repeatedly inquired about buying this and making offers for that, I was shot down every time with “Uh, I’m not really ready to sell yet.”  Breaking the ice was nearing impossible.

 

“How bout your doubles?  Where’s your junk corkscrews?”  This was my last hope.  I finally had the opportunity to buy some stuff!  Folding bows, a few Cloughs, a Snifter, and others.  Not exactly bargain buys, but some ok eBay items were acquired and the money got flowing.  Here’s a photo of the first lot:

IMG_0367

I saw a few Williamson Flash types around the collection, so I had to ask if he had any others and oh boy did he ever!  He pulled out a box that was very similar to my collection of flashes.  Knowing that it would take me almost 3 years to pick these up on eBay, I decided to make him an offer that he couldn’t refuse.  And he didn’t.  SCORE!!  154!!

IMG_0366

To put it mildly, this opened the flood gates.  I was able to revisit several previously unavailable pieces.  We both had a fantastic day.  Lots of money and lots of corkscrews!  What more could a collector want?!

IMG_0368

Openers, molds, and clowns!  Oh my!

 

I am still addicted and collecting Syroco like crazy!  As you can see above, there was a Syroco Laughing Man bottle opener (probably a employee personal project) that’s made of the original aluminum mold used by Syroco to produced the Laughing Man figurine. Another cool find as of late I got a Syroco Bartender bottle opener in the original box!  Super cool and super hard to find any of these pieces in the original box!  Also, I recently picked up a Syroco Waiter towel rack mold on eBay.  Dispite the after market paint job, still a great buy at $102.00!  And last but certainly not least, I’ve managed to snap up 3 of the 4 Painted Syroco Clowns that have surfaced on eBay this year!  I’m not sure, but I think that brings my total Syroco Clown count to 8?

IMG_0371IMG_0372Screen Shot 2013-03-01 at 9.56.31 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-01 at 9.56.50 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-01 at 10.08.43 AM

Ooooo….!   Stag Roundlet…!

 

In every collection, you are sure to find something that you don’t have in yours.  And every once in a while you come across items that are only seen in books.  I’ve always liked roundlet pieces and have a few good ones.  Gold and Silver variations of the Fairchild patents.  The Haff roundlet.  Goodyear variants.  Even got the Lund Spherical Joint roundlet.  All good pieces and glad to have them, but the one I’ve always wanted was the Stag Roundlet in Bull’s book.  Little Sterling Silver ends.  Ringing a bell yet?  Not everyone has that one in their collection.  And from what I’m told, there are only a couple known examples, this being one of them!

IMG_0373

A fellow collector who owned this piece liked it, but being that it’s worm was more than twisted in traditional form, he was not particularly attached.  After about 6 weeks of emails and offers a deal was made.  It’s not always the best idea to get into pieces that need to be repaired or fixed, but I couldn’t resist the opportunity to acquire this one!  A keeper for sure!  Hopefully I can get this worm back into shape…

This is just a bit of the goods lately.  More to be posted soon!

One Response to Time to catch up a little…

  1. simply awesome Tommy… Nice blog, and what an awesome haul!

Leave a Reply

